Project 1 Documentation

I decided to make a tablet stand with wood material. It is just the right size for an iPad 11inch model, but it works for other sizes as well.

I recently bought this pop socket attachment that goes on the back of the phone. It makes it easier and safer to hold phones, and it also works as a phone stand when it is placed horizontally. You can watch videos or simply put it on the desk. However, since the phone is vertically long and the pop socket is small, it was impossible to make it stand vertically. I never thought I needed a phone holder or anything, but letting the phone stand without using my hand or any extra effort was so convenient and somewhat satisfying. Also, making it stand vertically sounded useful for my iPad since I take class notes vertically. So I decided to make it fit the size of my iPad.

This object consists of a big bottom box, a small piece of wood that supports the front, and a prism-shaped piece that creates a slanted wall for the phone or the tablet. I considered acrylic and all fancy materials in the beginning but then decided on a natural classic wood look. I chose wood and sanded off the paint on it. The corners in the front are sanded roundly since I thought round edges and wood go well together as a design element. It is also safer and softer since the front is where my hand would move around the most.

Untitled_Artwork 2.jpg

This was the initial sketch, things are all over the place and there were a lot of dimension changes

 

project1 copy.jpg

Final output and demonstration

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started